Estate admin · Water charges
Which water companies waive charges on an empty property after a death?
Fifteen of 22 water companies name a death in their own rules, from a year's suspension to a discretionary allowance; two publish no relief, and Scottish Water publishes nothing.
There is no UK-wide rule. Of 22 water companies checked on 6 September and 11 October 2026, 21 publish a position, from a year's suspension to no relief.
Severn Trent, Dŵr Cymru Welsh Water and Hafren Dyfrdwy suspend all charges for up to 12 months while an empty property waits for probate. United Utilities stops water-services charges for 12 weeks.
Southern Water says bills continue as normal, and South East Water publishes no relief. NI Water does not bill households, and Scottish Water publishes nothing. Find your company below.
Where each company stands
Tap a name to jump to its row in the table. Each company was checked against its own bereavement page or charges scheme.
Charges stop or are suspended
8 companiesThese companies say, in their own words, that charges stop or are suspended after a death. Each has conditions: check its row.
May be cancelled, waived or reduced
6 companiesThe wording is 'may', so relief is at the company's discretion or conditional.
Bill held until probate
1 companyThe executors choose whether the supply stays on or is turned off, and the outstanding bill waits for probate.
A general empty-property rule only
3 companiesA death changes nothing by itself: the rule turns on whether the property is empty or unfurnished.
No relief published
2 companiesThe account is closed and a final bill goes to the estate; no charge relief for a death is published.
Not billed, or says nothing
2 companiesEither there is no household charge to claim relief from, or no position is stated.
Checked on 6 September 2026 (eleven companies) and 11 October 2026 (eleven more). The table below gives each company's wording, its time limit and what you must do.
What to do with the account
Why the answer depends on the company
Each concession lives in a document the company writes for itself. Almost every published position sits in a household charges scheme or on the company's own bereavement page, and each scheme is republished for every charging year. No company points to a shared rule, so each one has decided on its own terms whether a death changes what an empty property pays.
Fifteen companies wrote a death clause; five did not. Thames Water, Yorkshire Water and SES Water have only a general empty-property rule, which turns on the state of the premises, not on why they are empty. Southern Water and South East Water publish no relief at all.
The verb in the clause sets how much you can rely on it.
Firm: Severn Trent 'will suspend charges'; United Utilities 'will not charge'; Anglian 'will not levy Charges', though it 'may withdraw' the unmeasured exemption at any time.
Hedged: Bristol 'will not normally apply'; Northumbrian and Essex & Suffolk 'may be cancelled'; Affinity 'may on request waive all or part'; South West Water 'similar arrangements may apply at the Company's discretion'.
Conditional: Wessex says only that charges 'may remain payable ... unless' the non-occupation is due to death, and never states what is then relieved.
Bereavement pages and charges schemes are edited separately, and they disagree.
Anglian, Northumbrian, Wessex, Yorkshire, Thames, South Staffs and Cambridge all have bereavement pages that ask about the meter or water use and say nothing about charge relief. The relief is in the scheme.
Severn Trent's own downloadable Empty Property Policy PDF, linked from the same page, does not contain the 12-month probate exception the web page states. United Utilities' 12-week concession appears on its bereavement form, not its moving-home FAQ.
What to do with the account
- Identify the water company and read its charges scheme, not only its bereavement page. At least seven of the 21 companies that publish a position (Anglian, Northumbrian, Wessex, Yorkshire, Thames, South Staffs, Cambridge) have bereavement pages that say nothing about charges; the rule is in the scheme document, and Anglian's current clause is only in its 2025-26 edition because a 2026-27 scheme could not be located.
- Tell the company the property is empty as soon as it is, and say the account holder has died. Two companies publish when relief starts, and they differ: Thames Water says 'from the date you tell us the property is empty', and Bristol Water says charges will not normally apply 'from the date of death'. Portsmouth and South East Water say no retrospective allowance will be made, and SES Water allows nothing for a vacancy of under three months. The rest do not say, so do not assume backdating either way. Ask when you call, and call early.
- Ask for the concession by name. South West Water's scheme says arrangements 'will not be applied to an account unless a relevant application form has been completed', and its deceased allowance form comes from the Accounts Helpline. United Utilities' bereavement form has a 'Property empty' option to select. Severn Trent's page asks you to 'contact us as soon as possible' if the probate exception applies.
- Take a meter reading before the house is cleared, and be careful about using water afterwards. Welsh Water, Thames, Wessex, Northumbrian, United Utilities, Yorkshire and Anglian's form all ask for a reading. Anglian's scheme treats 'a positive Meter reading' as evidence the premises have not been vacated; Welsh Water charges for any period water is needed for decorating or renovation; Thames says all relevant charges become payable if water is used, including leakage.
- Keep the company's own wording and diarise the time limits. Save Severn Trent's web page rather than its PDF, which omits the exception. Note United Utilities' 12 weeks, the 12-month caps at Severn Trent, Welsh Water and Hafren Dyfrdwy, and at South West Water and Bournemouth Water (whose schemes say that after 12 months full charges are payable unless a meter is installed), and that Severn Trent will 'contact you periodically for an update'.
- Where nothing is waived, record the charges as a debt of the estate. Southern Water says bills 'will be issued as normal until the closure of the account' and that the balance is payable by the estate once probate is issued, not by the executor personally. Wessex Water likewise says debt in the deceased's sole name 'can be taken from the estate'. South East Water, where the premises are empty, will 'send a final bill to the executor'.
What each company publishes
22 companies, each checked against its own bereavement page or household charges scheme (eleven on 6 September 2026, eleven more on 11 October 2026). Look first at whether the rule is death-specific or a general empty-property rule, then at the verb: 'will suspend', 'may be cancelled' and 'may remain payable unless' are three different promises.
| Water company | What's Waived | How Long | What You Must Do | Death-Specific Rule? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Severn Trent | All charges are suspended once Severn Trent is satisfied the property is empty and no water is being used. The same page states that otherwise 'if your property is unmetered, full charges will apply' and a metered property keeps being read and billed on consumption | Up to 12 months. Alternatively, for the period of a council-tax exemption if you send a copy of the exemption letter | Tell them the owner has died and the property is in probate — the page says 'please contact us as soon as possible' and that they 'will contact you periodically for an update'. No dedicated phone number or email is given on this page. Note: the downloadable 'Empty Property Policy' PDF linked from the same page does not repeat the 12-month exception | Yes — 'Owner is deceased, property in probate' is the first of three named exceptions (with long-term hospital/care-home stays and prison) |
| United Utilities | Water services charges at the address, once you tell them on its bereavement form that the property is empty. Its general FAQ adds: 'If you need water for any reason, including heating or cleaning, then charges are still payable' | 12 weeks — 'After that period we will contact you again to confirm the name of the person taking responsibility for paying water bills at this property'. What happens to charges after the 12 weeks is not stated | Complete the online bereavement form (or call 0800 912 7249) and select 'Property empty'; the form asks for a meter reading if applicable | Yes — the 12-week statement sits on its bereavement-notification form, not its general moving-home FAQ |
| Thames Water | Unmetered charges in full, or the fixed charges on a metered supply — provided the property is 'unoccupied and unfurnished, except for white goods' | Not stated — no time limit given; 'if we become aware that water is being used at the property (including water lost due to leakage), all relevant charges will be payable' | Call to report the property empty and be able to show it is unoccupied and unfurnished. Relief 'will take effect from the date you tell us the property is empty' — the only one of the first eleven checked to publish a start-date rule (Bristol Water’s scheme, added on 11 October 2026, also says relief runs 'from the date of death'). Its bereavement page asks for 'an up-to-date meter reading if possible' and says nothing about charge relief | No — a general empty-property rule (Charges Scheme 2026-27 §9.1); the bereavement page is silent on charges |
| Dŵr Cymru Welsh Water | 'Any charges' — temporarily removed. But 'if the property will be occupied in any way (even temporary), or water is needed for any decorating or renovation work, charges will be payable for the period water is needed' | Up to a maximum of a year, while waiting for a Grant of Probate to sell or rent the property | Notify the bereavement team (0800 052 0145, live chat, or the online bereavement form) with the account holder's and executor's name/address, the date of death, a meter reading if safe to take, and the names of anyone living in or due to live in the property | Yes — explicitly tied to a solo occupier's death and the wait for probate |
| Southern Water | Nothing — no charge waiver is published for a death | N/A | Add executor's details via its bereavement form. Its Household Charges Scheme 2026-27 (Part 2 §10) says 'Charges may remain payable if premises are unoccupied, unless the water supply to the premises has been disconnected because the premises are unoccupied' — and has no death or deceased clause | No — the only one of the first eleven checked whose bereavement page states plainly that bills continue as normal; the balance is then a debt of the estate |
| Anglian Water | 'Charges' (water supply and sewerage) are not levied where no water is being consumed and the occupier is deceased | Not stated — no time limit; but for unmeasured charges the exemption 'may be withdrawn by us at any time' (§3.6) | No water being consumed — 'a positive Meter reading will be taken as evidence that the Premises have not been vacated' (§3.7). Notify via the bereavement line 0800 141 2944 or the online form (which asks 'Is the property empty?'); the bereavement page itself says nothing about charge relief | Yes — 'the Occupier is deceased' is condition (ii) of Charges Scheme §3.5. Quoted from the 2025-2026 scheme; a 2026-2027 edition could not be located on anglianwater.co.uk |
| Yorkshire Water | Nothing waived — a premises on assessed charges that becomes empty moves to the 'Empty property' assessed rate: £55.33/yr water (£53.44 in the York Waterworks area) and £123.74/yr sewerage (2026/27), not zero. The scheme is silent on rateable-value unmetered properties that fall empty | 'Until such time as the premises is reoccupied' — no separate time limit | Tell them it's empty; 'customers may be required to provide Yorkshire Water with reasonable evidence ... e.g. council tax ... empty property discount'. It is 'the customer's responsibility to inform Yorkshire Water immediately' if it is reoccupied. Its bereavement page asks for a meter reading and says nothing about charge relief | No — the empty-property rate applies to any empty premises for any reason |
| South West Water | A discretionary reduction, not a waiver. The scheme sets fixed annual charges for a hospitalised sole occupier (£150.68 water / £198.42 sewerage / £309.47 both, 2026/27; a metered customer pays only the metered fixed charges while no water is used) and says 'similar arrangements may apply' after a death. Separately, any unmeasured property that is 'both unoccupied and unfurnished' with no refurbishment under way is not charged at all (§5.10) | Up to 12 months, 'at the Company's discretion'; §5.16: 'After 12 months full charges will be payable unless a meter is installed' | Apply — 'they will not be applied to an account unless a relevant application form has been completed'; the 'deceased allowance' form is obtained from the Accounts Helpline | Yes — a named 'deceased allowance', framed as discretionary |
| Northumbrian Water | 'Charges may be cancelled' on notification where a furnished household property falls vacant because the sole occupant has died — 'may', not 'will' | Not stated — no time limit; 'if the property becomes re-occupied by any person, full charges will be applied' | 'Northumbrian Water should be informed'. The clause covers a still-furnished property (a supply turned off by Northumbrian Water is a separate rule, §4.4(32)(b)). Its bereavement page asks for a meter reading and says nothing about charge relief | Yes — 'death of the sole occupant' is named alongside long-term hospitalisation (Household Charges Scheme 2026-27 §4.4(32)(a)) |
| Wessex Water | Not stated affirmatively — the scheme says charges 'may remain payable' on unoccupied premises 'unless' the non-occupation is due to death; it does not say which charges are then relieved | Not stated | Not stated — no application process in the scheme. Its bereavement page asks for account and executor details and a meter reading, says debt in the deceased's sole name 'can be taken from the estate', and does not mention charge relief | Yes — death is one of two named 'exceptional circumstances' (Household Charges Scheme 2026-27 §6.7(b)) |
| Hafren Dyfrdwy | Charges are suspended once Hafren Dyfrdwy is satisfied the property is empty and no water is being used. The same page says that otherwise 'If your property is unmetered, full charges will apply', and that a metered property keeps being read and billed on consumption, with the standing charge, surface water drainage and highway drainage still payable | Up to 12 months. Alternatively, for the period of a council tax exemption if you send a copy of the exemption letter. A separate clause of the same scheme (viii) says 'No charges will be levied in respect of furnished but unoccupied premises' where non-occupation is due to exceptional circumstances such as death, and gives no time limit | Tell them the owner has died and the property is in probate — the page says 'We will contact you periodically for an update'. For the council tax route they require a copy of the exemption letter. Clause (viii) adds that the non-occupation must be 'shown to our satisfaction' | Yes — 'Owner is deceased, property in probate' is the first of three named exceptions (with long-term personal care in hospital or a care home, and prison); clause (viii) of the charging rules also names death |
| Affinity Water | 'all or part of the charges' may be waived, on request. The default in the same section is that 'charges remain payable when your premises are empty' | Not stated — no time limit | Ask: the waiver is 'on request', and 'may', so it is at Affinity Water’s discretion. If it finds the premises are occupied it 'will levy full charges back to the last known date of occupation' and may charge a fee shown in its schedule of charges | Yes — death is named first, ahead of long term hospitalisation or care (Charges Scheme 2026/27 §4.6(2)) |
| Essex & Suffolk Water | 'charges may be cancelled' on notification where a furnished household property falls vacant because the sole occupant has died — 'may', not 'will' | Not stated — no time limit; 'If the property becomes re-occupied by any person, full charges will be applied' | 'Essex & Suffolk Water should be informed'. The clause covers a furnished property that has fallen vacant; a supply turned off by Essex & Suffolk Water is a separate rule (§4.4(32)(b)). The scheme is made by Northumbrian Water Limited and the clause is word for word the one in Northumbrian Water’s own scheme above, apart from the company name | Yes — 'death of the sole occupant' is named alongside long term hospitalisation (Charges Scheme 2026/27 §4.4(32)(a)) |
| Portsmouth Water | The executors choose: keep the supply on to a furnished property 'with charges accruing', or have it turned off. Either way the outstanding bill 'will only become payable upon Probate or Letters of Administration having been obtained'. The general rule on the same page is that 'Charges are payable if premises are furnished unless the Company is asked to turn off the supply', and 'No retrospective allowances will be given' | Not stated — no time limit; the outstanding bill is deferred until probate or letters of administration are obtained | Decide whether to keep the supply on or ask Portsmouth Water to turn it off. The scheme says that where a turn off is required pending the sale of a property, no charge is made to turn the supply off and back on if it is done in normal working hours and notice has been given. It also says 'No charges are payable in respect of unoccupied unfurnished premises, where no water is being used' | Yes — a named clause for 'a property is unoccupied following the death of the owner/occupier' (Scheme of Charges, Household Customers, 2026-27, 'Empty properties', page 17) |
| SES Water | Nothing for a death — SES Water’s scheme has no death or deceased clause. Its general rule: where a property is unoccupied, 'the charge remains payable' unless SES Water is informed in advance and can turn the supply off at the boundary stopcock; if the customer 'requests and consents to be disconnected all water charges are waived' | Not stated for a death — 'No allowances will be made on Premises vacant for a period of less than three months' | Tell SES Water before the property falls empty and agree to disconnection. Where advance notice was not possible ('such as in the case of emergency hospital admissions') the scheme says it 'will consider cases presented to it' with evidence such as a council tax rebate, and still allows nothing for periods of less than three months | No — the unoccupied-property rule applies to any vacant property. The scheme gives hospital admissions as an example of why advance notice may be impossible, but does not mention death |
| South East Water | Nothing — no relief for a death is published. Section 10.4 (Bereavement) only says who is billed: if the premises are empty pending sale, 'we will issue a closing statement to the executor'. For empty unmetered premises, charges stop only if and from the time you can show 'to our reasonable satisfaction' that no one lives at or uses the premises, that it is unfurnished and that the supply is not used for any purpose | N/A | Notify South East Water of the death; its bereavement page says 'If the property is empty, we’ll close the account and send a final bill to the executor.' For unmetered premises, confirm in writing that a water supply is no longer required — 'No retrospective allowance will be made'. The scheme points to a meter (section 7) as the way to reduce charges on an empty property | No — section 10.4 names bereavement, but only to say who receives the closing statement; no charge relief is tied to death |
| South Staffs Water | 'No charges' on a furnished but unoccupied property where the non-occupation is due to exceptional circumstances such as death. The exemption appears twice: with the general vacant-property rules, and under 'Unmetered' in the section on discontinuing supplies. The 'Metered' paragraph beside the second one says any water used, 'along with the full metered standing charges will be due unless the customer asks for the property to be disconnected', and does not repeat it | Not stated | Not stated — no application process in the scheme. Its bereavement page asks whether water is still being used and, if the property forms part of the estate, for the executor’s name and address 'for any refunds or closing bills'; it says nothing about charge relief | Yes — death is the first example of 'exceptional circumstances' (Customer Charges Scheme 2026/27) |
| Cambridge Water | 'No charges' on a furnished but unoccupied property where the non-occupation is due to exceptional circumstances such as death. The exemption appears twice: with the general vacant-property rules, and under 'Unmetered' in the section on discontinuing supplies. The 'Metered' paragraph beside the second one says any water used, 'along with the full metered standing charges will be due unless the customer asks for the property to be disconnected', and does not repeat it | Not stated | Not stated — no application process in the scheme. Its bereavement page asks whether water is still being used and, if the property forms part of the estate, for the executor’s name and address 'for any refunds or closing bills'; it says nothing about charge relief | Yes — death is the first example of 'exceptional circumstances' (Customer Charges Scheme 2026/27, made by South Staffs Water Plc 'incorporating Cambridge Water'; the same clause as in South Staffs Water’s scheme) |
| Bristol Water | Charges 'will not normally apply (from the date of death)' where the sole occupier has died and no water is being used — 'not normally', so not guaranteed. Written separately for unmeasured (§4.15) and measured (§4.26) properties. For a measured vacant property no standing charge is made 'where no consumption is recorded', but meter readings continue and any consumption is charged normally (§4.23) | Not stated — no time limit; it holds while there is 'no water use at the property' (unmeasured) or 'no water use' (measured) | The executors 'should contact BWBSL at the earliest possible opportunity' (BWBSL is Bristol Wessex Billing Services Ltd, which bills Bristol Water customers). No form or evidence is named | Yes — a named rule for the death of the sole occupier, with relief running 'from the date of death'. On the scheme’s own account, Ofwat varied South West Water’s licence on 1 February 2023 to cover the area served by Bristol Water; it keeps its own charges scheme, worded differently from South West Water’s |
| Bournemouth Water | A discretionary reduction, not a waiver. For a hospitalised sole occupier the scheme sets 'a fixed annual charge of £35.00' (a metered customer pays only the metered standing charges while no water is used) and says 'Similar arrangements may apply at the Company’s discretion after a sole occupier has died'. Otherwise an unoccupied unmetered property pays 'the full charge' unless the supply is disconnected (§4.11), and a metered one pays 'the full charge' unless the supply is turned off, with volume charges reflecting actual use (§4.13) | Up to 12 months — 'After 12 months full charges will be payable unless a meter is installed' (§4.16) | Apply — 'they will not be applied to an account unless a relevant application form has been completed'; the 'deceased allowance' form is obtained from the Accounts Helpline | Yes — a named 'deceased allowance' (§4.14–4.16), framed as discretionary. Bournemouth Water’s scheme is its own, with its own figure; it gives South West Water’s Customer Accounts as the postal address |
| NI Water | Nothing to waive — NI Water does not bill households. Its 2025-26 scheme of charges says 'NIW will not issue bills to domestic customers in 2025-26', with payments made 'on our customers’ behalf by the Department for Infrastructure'. Its 2026/27 charges announcement is for non-domestic customers and refers to 'the continuing deferment of domestic charges'; a 2026-27 scheme of charges could not be located | N/A | Nothing for a household to claim | No — the scheme has no death or bereavement provision for households, because households are not billed |
| Scottish Water · publishes nothing | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published |
22 checked · 1 publish nothing at all on this question — that row is kept deliberately, because the silence is the finding. Each row is what that provider’s own page says, on the date beside it.
If you are the executor
The water account is one of many the estate will carry until the property is sold or let, and each company's answer needs a date, a name and the wording you were given. The free blank executor checklist at /resources/blank-executor-checklist gives you a place to record every account and its status without an account or a login.
Where a company only 'may' cancel charges, or is silent on when relief starts, the safest record is the company's own words on the day you called. The executor evidence log brief explains why keeping that record matters if the estate is later asked to pay for a period you believed was waived.
Valoren does not contact water companies for you. The routes linked here are the parts of the site that help you keep the estate's accounts in order while you do.
Prefer an independent adviser? The Law Society, STEP and the Chartered Institute of Taxation keep public directories, and none of them pays Valoren a referral fee.
Water charges, answered.
What usually comes next.
Three places to go next, in order of how much you need.
Informational, not advice. Every rule on this page sits in a company's household charges scheme or on its bereavement page, and the schemes are republished for each charging year, usually from 1 April. The clause, its verb, its time cap and its pound figures can all change between editions. Four specific things to confirm: NI Water's household position rests on its 2025-26 scheme and 2026/27 announcement, because no 2026-27 scheme was found on 11 October 2026; Anglian Water's clause is quoted from its 2025-26 scheme because a 2026-27 edition could not be found on anglianwater.co.uk on 6 September 2026; the Yorkshire Water and South West Water figures are 2026/27 rates; and Severn Trent's 12-month probate exception exists on its web page but not in its downloadable Empty Property Policy PDF, so a rewrite of either could remove it. Re-check the company's current-year scheme document and its bereavement page separately, because they are edited separately and did not agree on the day this was checked. Covers 22 water companies serving households in England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland, eleven checked on 6 September 2026 and eleven on 11 October 2026, each against its own bereavement page and, where one exists, its household charges scheme, not third-party guides. Twenty-one publish a position; Scottish Water publishes nothing. NI Water is included because it does not bill households. Business premises and non-household retail suppliers are not covered. The page describes a domestic account left empty after the named account holder's death; where a company's wording covers a 'sole occupant' or 'solo occupier', that condition is part of the rule.